Back to top
  /  Innovation   /  Innovators Award 2014

Innovators Award 2014

Winners of the European Women
Innovators Award 2014

2014 year’s winners of the EU Prize for Women Innovators are Saskia Biskup (Germany, first prize), Laura van ‘t Veer (The Netherlands, second prize), and Ana Maiques (Spain, third prize).

The competition celebrates women who have combined their scientific excellence with a head for business to set up innovative enterprises. It is open to women who have benefited from EU research and innovation programs. The three winners have received their prizes from the President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso at the opening ceremony of the Innovation Convention 2014, Europe’s premier innovation event on 10 March 2104 in Brussels.

The three winners were selected by an independent panel of experts from a total of 67 applications. The contest follows the success of a pilot edition in 2011 and is worth €100,000 for the first prize, €50,000 for the second, and €25,000 for the third.

<>i Although the proportion of female researchers in Europe is increasing, the under-representation of women in scientific disciplines and careers still persists. According to the “She Figures 2013” report published by the European Commission, women represent only 33% of European researchers, 20% of full professors, and 15.5% of heads of institutions in the Higher Education sector. Similar, on average, women makeup 30% of the entrepreneurs in the EU, but often face greater difficulties than men in starting up businesses and in accessing finance and training,